Facts: Colorado Chemical Demilitarization Citizens’ Advisory Commission

The top priority for the Pueblo Chemical Agent-Destruction Pilot Plant (PCAPP) and the systems designed to augment its destruction capabilities was to safely destroy the chemical weapons previously stored at the U.S. Army Pueblo Chemical Depot while providing meaningful opportunities for the public to be involved in the project. The Department of Defense (DOD) and the depot recognized that public participation in the chemical stockpile destruction effort was critical to its success, and the last chemical weapon in the stockpile in Colorado was destroyed June 22, 2023.

Citizens’ Advisory Commissions, or CACs, were established by Congress in the 1990s for states where chemical weapons stockpiles were stored. Following Public Law 102-484, the Colorado Chemical Demilitarization CAC bridges the community and the government by providing a forum for exchanging information about chemical weapons demilitarization and closure efforts. Its mission is to “provide a mechanism for the thorough and objective exchange of information among the citizens of Colorado, the Army and other organizations involved in the chemical weapons demilitarization program.”

The governor of Colorado appoints nine members to the CAC, including seven private citizens  representing the local community and two representatives of state agencies working closely with the DOD program. Although the commission receives limited federal funding from the DOD, it operates independently of Army influence. The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment provides staff support for the Colorado CAC.

Now that the chemical weapons have been destroyed, the focus has shifted to conducting the safe closure of the plant. The CAC will remain active until either the end of closure activities or upon the request of the Colorado governor. At PCAPP, a specific working group meets on a regular basis for citizens to provide input associated with the closure phase.

The Colorado CAC meets on a regular basis, with additional meetings scheduled, when possible, in the communities of Avondale and Boone. The CAC’s Permitting Working Group and Biotreatment Utilization Group meetings are usually held before the CAC meeting or as needed. Information on upcoming meetings can be found at: https://www.peoacwa.army.mil/pcapp/

Contact one of the commission members below to discuss the project and how to become involved:

Local Members

Ms. Irene Kornelly, CAC and
Permitting Working Group Chair
1602 Clemson Dr.
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Telephone (H): (719) 591-5157
Email: ikornelly@pcisys.net

Hon. Terry Hart, CAC Vice Chair
29685 Hegler Ct.
Pueblo, CO 81006
Telephone (H): (719) 948-0071
Email: tahart11@msn.com

Dr. Velma Campbell
140 W. 29th St., #348
Pueblo, CO  81008
Telephone (W): (719) 542-1615
Email: vlcampb@comcast.net

Mr. Jason Castro
3230 Tod St.
Pueblo, CO 81005
Telephone (M): (719) 406-3104
Email: jason_denver2004@yahoo.com

Mr. Russell DeSalvo III
P.O. Box 11467
Pueblo, CO 81001
Telephone (W): (719) 947-3770
Email: rdesalvo@puebloplex.com

Mr. Kenneth D. Griffin
4735 Katahdin Lane
Pueblo, CO 81004
Telephone (H): (719) 676-3411
Email: kennydg73@icloud.com

Mr. John Norton
Biotreatment Utilization Group Chair
319 W. Orman Ave.
Pueblo, CO 81004
Telephone (H): (719) 543-3741
Email: nortonjp@comcast.net

State-Appointed Member

Mr. Mark Honnen
Deputy Chief of Staff
Office of the Lieutenant Governor

State of Colorado
200 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Telephone: (303) 866-4075
Email: mark.honnen@state.co.us

Ms. Colleen Brisnehan
Solid and Hazardous Waste Program Manager
Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Telephone (W): (303) 692-3357
or toll free: 1 (888) 569-1831 Ext. 3357
Email: colleen.brisnehan@state.co.us

Administrator for the CAC

Ms. Jeannine Natterman
Public Involvement Coordinator
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Telephone (W): (303) 692-3303
or toll free: 1 (888) 569-1831 Ext. 3303
Fax: (303) 759-5355
Email: jeannine.natterman@state.co.us

Scroll to Top